Thursday , July 29 2021

March 29, 2021 coronavirus news

Arkansas is the only state left in the US to announce when it plans to open up coronavirus vaccinations to everyone eligible under US Food and Drug Administration emergency use authorization.

In Arkansas, no announcement of plans has been made yet, but Meg Mirivel, a spokesperson for the Arkansas Department of Health, told CNN in an email on Friday: “We do anticipate meeting the May 1 benchmark.”

Meanwhile, New York is the most recent state to announce its plans for vaccinating everyone 16 and older. Gov. Andrew Cuomo said on Monday that the expansion would begin on April 6 — with eligibility opening up to residents 30 years of age and older beginning Tuesday morning.

A dozen states already have expanded coronavirus vaccine eligibility to anyone 16 and older. Alaska opened up vaccinations to anyone 16 and older on March 9, Mississippi on March 16, West Virginia expanded on March 22, Utah on March 24, Georgia on March 25, and Arizona opened vaccination to anyone over 16 who can get to state-run sites in three counties as of March 24. 

Oklahoma, Texas, Ohio, North Dakota, Louisiana and Kansas expanded to anyone 16 and older on March 29. Several states that already announced plans to open up vaccine eligibility by early May have changed their timelines to open up in late March or early April. 

Below is the timeline for when states have said they will open vaccination eligibility to the general public:

  • March 30: Minnesota
  • March 31: Indiana, South Carolina
  • April 1: Montana, Connecticut
  • April 2: New Hampshire
  • April 5: Michigan, Tennessee, Idaho, Iowa, Florida, Nevada
  • April 7: North Carolina
  • April 9: Missouri
  • April 12: Illinois, Kentucky
  • April 15: California
  • April 19: Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island
  • April 27: Maryland
  • April, no set date: New Mexico, Virginia, Colorado, Wyoming
  • May 1: Wisconsin, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington, Nebraska, Hawaii, Delaware, Alabama, Pennsylvania, New Jersey

For all states currently vaccinating anyone 16 and older, people ages 16 or 17 can only receive a Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine, as it is the only option authorized for use in that population so far. The vaccines made by Moderna and Johnson & Johnson are authorized for use in adults 18 and older.

Trending News

Sign up to receive Top trending , and keep up to date on our latest news!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

About trendingnews

Check Also

Blinken warns talks with Iran can’t go on indefinitely

“We are committed to diplomacy, but this process cannot go on indefinitely,” Blinken said at …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *